Book Award Winners


 Award  Years  Description
American Book Awards 1996-1999 Recognize outstanding literary achievement by contemporary American authors, without restriction to race, sex, ethnic background, or genre. The purpose of the awards is to acknowledge the excellence and multicultural diversity of American writing 
American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual Book Awards 1971-1999 Best works of fiction and nonfiction dealing with gay, lesbian, and bisexual themes 
Audie Awards 1996-1998 Presented by the Audio Publishers Association for excellence in Spoken Audio publishing 
Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Awards 1994-1999 Recognize outstanding work by African American authors 
Boston Book Review Literary Prize 1995-1999 Recognize the finest of the year's literary offerings - three awards: the Bingham Poetry Prize, the Rea Non-Fiction Prize, and the Fisk Fiction Prize
BP Natural World Book Prize

Bread Loaf Bakeless Prize 1996-1999 Awarded to new authors of literary works in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction 
Firecracker Alternative Book Awards 1996-1998  Celebrate and publicize the best in alternative publishing
Robert F. Kennedy Book Awards 1980-1999 The book that "most faithfully and forcefully reflects Robert Kennedy's purposes--his concern for the poor and the powerless, his struggle for honest and even-handed justice, his conviction that a decent society must assure all young people a fair chance, and his faith that a free democracy can act to remedy disparities of power and opportunity"
Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize 1996-1999 Recognize books that promote greater understanding among people of the Pacific Rim 
Lannan Literary Awards 1996-1999
MacArthur Fellowships 1994-1999   The so-called "Genius Awards" 
Minnesota Book Awards 1997-1998 Recognize, promote, and celebrate throughout each year the contributions that Minnesota's authors, illustrators, editors, and publishers make to its quality of life 
National Book Awards 1989-1999  
National Book Critics Circle Awards 1995-1998 More than 700 book reviewers -- centerpiece has been annual awards for the best book in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography/autobiography, poetry, and criticism 
Pen Center USA West Literary Awards 1997-1999  Unique regional competition that rewards writers in ten categories, from playwrights to journalists, novelists to poets, and celebrates the written word in all forms
Pulitzer Prize 1965-1999  
Reference and User Services Association Awards 1993-1999 Chosen for their significant contribution to the expansion of knowledge or for the pleasure they can provide to adult readers 
Whitbread Prize 1973-1998  Given each year in four categories (novel, first novel, poetry, and biography) to works by authors who have lived for three or more years in Great Britain or Ireland


© 2005

We appreciate your feedback on our site, in order to make it better for you. Please send us an e-mail at