Book Award Winners

Fiction and Poetry:

 Award  Years  Description
American Book Awards 1996-1999 Outstanding literary achievement by contemporary American authors -- acknowledging excellence and multicultural diversity  
American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual Book Awards 1971-1999 Best works of fiction and nonfiction dealing with gay, lesbian, and bisexual themes 
Audie Awards 1996-1998 Excellence in Spoken Audio publishing -- 23 categories 
Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Awards 1994-1999 Outstanding work by African American authors 
Booker Prize for Fiction 1969-1999 Best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of the UK, the Commonwealth, Eire, Pakistan, or South Africa 
Boston Book Review Literary Prize 1995-1999 Finest of year's literary offerings, including three awards:
Bingham Poetry Prize, Rea Non-Fiction Prize, and Fisk Fiction Prize
Bread Loaf Bakeless Prize 1996-1999 New authors of literary works in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction 
Firecracker Alternative Book Awards 1996-1998 Best in alternative publishing 
Giller Prize 1994-1999 Excellence in creative writing 
Granta's Best of Young American Novelists 1996 Best of Young American Novelists 
Guardian Fiction Prize 1980-1998 Fiction 
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards 1996-1999 Fiction written in or translated into English, with libraries in major cities throughout the world making the nominations
Kiriyama Pacific Rim Book Prize 1996-1999 Recognize books that promote greater understanding among people of the Pacific Rim 
Lambda Literary Awards 1989-1999 Recognize excellence in gay and lesbian writing and
publishing in the U.S. 
Lannan Literary Awards 1996-1999  
MacArthur Fellowships 1994-1999 "Genius Awards" 
Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize 1975-1999 Most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year
Minnesota Book Awards 1997-1999 Celebrate throughout each year the contributions that the Minnesota's authors, illustrators, editors, and publishers make to its quality of life 
National Book Awards 1989-1998  
National Book Critics Circle Awards 1995-1998  700 book reviewers select the best book in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography/autobiography, poetry, and criticism
Nobel Prize for Literature 1901-1998  
Orange Prize 1996-1999 Honors and celebrates fiction written by women and published in the United Kingdom 
Pen Center USA West Literary Awards 1997-1999 Unique regional competition that rewards writers in ten categories, from playwrights to journalists, novelists to poets, and celebrates the written word in all forms 
PEN/Faulkner Awards 1986-1999  
Pulitzer Prize 1965-1999  
RUSA Notable Books 1993-1999 Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association presents its list of Notable Books, which are chosen for their significant contribution to the expansion of knowledge or for the pleasure they can provide to adult readers 
The Tanning Prize 1994-1999 A panel of judges appointed each year by the Academy of American Poetsrecognizes outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry 
The Thurber Prize 1997 Administered by the Thurber House, in Columbus, Ohio, the restored home of James Thurber 
Betty Trask Awards 1984-1999 Presented by the Society of Authors in the UK for the best first novel by a writer under the age of 35. (award limited to romantic and "traditional" writing)
Whitbread Book Awards 1973-1998 Given each year in four categories (novel, first novel, poetry, and biography) to works by authors who have lived for three or more years in Great Britain or Ireland 


We appreciate your feedback on our site, in order to make it better for you. Please send us an e-mail at